top of page

riverglen Group

Public·275 members
Kasim Doronin
Kasim Doronin

Kottayam Pushpanath Detective Novels Malayalaml


Pushpanathan Pillai, better known by the pseudonym Kottayam Pushpanath (Malayalam: കട്ടയ പുഷ്പനഥ്), was an Indian author of detective novels in the Malayalam language.




Kottayam Pushpanath Detective Novels Malayalaml



Pushpanath followed the tradition of Sherlock Holmes and Hercules Poirot in creating two fictional detectives, Detective Marxin and Pushparaj, the two names which became as popular as the name of the author itself.[8] Detective Pushparaj would be the protagonist if the novels are set in India and Detective Marxin would take the lead role in novels set outside India.[9] Some novels featured another fictional character, Detective Sudheer, as the lead.[10]


In the tradition of Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot, Pushpanath had created two fictional detectives Marx and Pushparaj. If the story is set somewhere in India, Pushparaj often takes the role of the lead detective officer. Otherwise, detective Marx is the protagonist. Detective Sudheer also appears in the lead role in some of his novels. He has written over 300 novels. Kottayam Pushpanath or Pushpanath Pillai used to teach history but quit his job to penning thrilling and intriguing detective novels.


/gi , '');result = result.replace(//gi , '');result = result.replace(//gi , '');$("#other_stories_slide").html(result+'');$("#other_stories_slide1").slick(dots:!0,arrows:!1,infinite:!0,speed:3000,autoplayspeed:3000,lazyLoad:"ondemand",slidesToShow:4,autoplay:!0,slidesToScroll:1 ,responsive : [breakpoint: 767, settings: slidesToShow: 1, slidesToScroll: 1,breakpoint: 480, settings: slidesToShow: 1, slidesToScroll: 1]);}}});}); .morefromwidth: 100%;float: left;margin:2% 0 2%;text-align:center; .morefrom afont-weight:bold;color: #4672db; .morefrom spanfloat:left;font-size: 16px; Now we are on Telegram too. Follow us for updates TAGS Malayalam Kottayam Pushpanath Malayalam literature $(document).ready(function() $('.whatsapp').on("click", function(e) IEMobile); ); .ArticleDetailContent lifloat: none; list-style: inherit;.ArticleDetailContent blockquote padding-left: 20px !important; padding-right: 8px !important; border-left-width: 5px; border-color: #ccc; font-style: italic;margin:10px 0 !important;padding: 12px 16px !important;font-size:13px !important;.ArticleDetailContent blockquote pfont-size:13px !important;text-align:center;@media screen and ( max-width: 768px) audio width:100%;var base_url = " ";var content_id = "1809160";var content_type_id = "1";var page_Indexid = "no_pagination";var section_id = "178";//location.reload(true);var content_url = " -detective-fiction-writer-kottayam-pushpanath-passes-away-1809160.html";var page_param = "178";var content_from = "archive";var bitly_url = "";var bitly_message = "";//$("#storyContent p:eq(0)").before($('.author_txt').show());//$("#storyContent p:eq(0)").before($('.agency_txt').show()); O P E N


Creator of fictional detectives Marxin and Pushparaj, has authored over hundred detective novels, many of which have been translated into other South Indian languages, apart from being adapted on screen.


In the 70s, Pushpanath became a sought-after writer for popular Malayalam weeklies, which survived on pulp fiction and horror stories. Although several other detective novelists appeared in the arena, Pushpanath straddled the stream of fiction in Malayalam. At the peak of his career he churned out 11 novels at a time while juggling with myriad characters every week.


Noted detective novelist" Kottayam Pushpanath, who expanded the world of horror fiction in Malayalam literature, died due to age-related ailments here today. He was 80. He is survived by a wife and two children. Pushpanath breathed his last at his residence here, his family said.Pushpanath, a retired school teacher, wrote over 100 detective and horror novels in Malayalam. Malayalam films were made based on some of his novels. Many of his works were translated into various languages including Tamil, Telugu, and Kannada. His funeral rites will be performed at CSI Cathedral here on Friday.


Kottayam Pushpanath was a household name among Malayalam fiction lovers in the 70s and 80s. The prolific writer had earned his popularity through his science thrillers, horror and detective novels. The Facebook page in the writer's name is a testimony to the impact author and his stories had left on generationss and how they still hold sway on the young readers of today. Now, the Kottayam Pushpanath Publications has announced the re-release of 5 novels from the prodigious writer's Dracula series.


'Detective Marxin' and 'Detective Pushparaj', the two detective characters created by Kottayam Pushpanath, are still fresh in the minds of his readers. Kottayam Pushpanath Publications has already republished novels from the Marxin series and Pushparaj series and some of the novels are made available as e-books and audiobooks as well. The publications, in view of the changes in the trends and the new choices of readers of this age, is planning to release more e-books; recordings for audiobooks are also in progress.


Pushpanathan Pillai alias Kottayam Pushpanath is a famous Malayalam author. He wrote many detective novels, mainstream novels, science fiction, and horror fiction. He has translated Bram Stoker's Dracula into Malayalam. He created two two fictional detective characters - Marxin and Pushparaj. Now he lives in Kottayam, Kerala. He had published many books on tourism and other India-related subjects. Many of his books are translated by Sivan to Tamil language.


Pushpanath began writing in the late 1960s and went on prolifically for several decades, writing for Malayalam magazines that serialised the books and won him many readers. Along with the Dracula series (there were 20 of these), he wrote detective novels featuring two distinct characters Marxin and Pushparaj. Marxin solved cases outside India while Pushparaj dealt with those within the country.


About

Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...

Members

bottom of page